

OFFICERS

Brenda Stephens, Orange
President
Amy Churchill, Buncombe
President-Elect
Earl Taylor, Onslow
Vice President
Lucy Edwards, Northampton
Treasurer

Billy Griffin, Jones Immediate Past President

DIRECTORS

Coleman Barbour Whiteville

Patricia Burden Wayne

Thelma Byers-Bailey Charlotte-Mecklenburg

Dot Cherry Gaston Ed Dennison

Moore Mac Hodges

Beaufort Dr. Debbie Marsh Mooresville

Dr. Terri Mosley
Surry
Christian Overton

Camden
Darrell Pennell

Caldwell
Dub Potts
Davie

Barry Shoemaker

Cabarrus

Jennifer Thompson Cherokee Central

Cherokee Central
Steve Van Pelt
Alamance-Burlington

Carol Worley

PAST PRESIDENTS

Minnie Forte-Brown, Durham
Carr Ipock, Craven
Roberta Scott, Warren
Paige Sayles, Franklin
Shearra Miller, Cleveland
Evelyn Bulluck, Nash-Rocky Mt
Chuck Francis, Haywood
Wendell Hall, Hertford
Linda Cranford, Asheboro
Leonard Peace, Granville
Dr. Christine Fitch, Wilson

P.O. Box 97877 Raleigh, NC 27624 Office: 919.747.6686 Fax: 919.841.4020 lwinner@ncsba.org

MEMORANDUM

To: Board Chairs

From: Leanne E. Winner

NCSBA Director of Governmental Relations

Date: January 22, 2020

Re: 2020 NCSBA Legislative Committee Service

Cc: Superintendents, Board Assistants

The North Carolina School Boards Association's Board of Directors is now inviting each local school board to nominate one of its members to serve on NCSBA's Legislative Committee. This is the Committee tasked with developing a draft legislative agenda for NCSBA for consideration and adoption by the Delegate Assembly. The Committee also reviews ongoing legislative activity and provides guidance to the Board of Directors on legislative matters. It is comprised of a subset of the NCSBA BOD, the eight education district presidents, and eight "atlarge" local school board members **nominated** by their local board and selected by the NCSBA President. This "at-large" nomination and selection process provides an opportunity for the larger membership to become more directly involved in NCSBA's decision-making process.

Each board is invited to **nominate** <u>one</u> board member to serve on the committee. This individual should be nominated through a vote of the full board taken in open session. The person who is nominated must be able to **commit** to **attending** <u>both</u> <u>meetings</u>. Once nominated, the person should complete the attached application form and return it to NCSBA Attn: Rebekah Howard via mail, email, or fax by **12:00 pm on Thursday, March 5** (mailing address and fax number are below). Brenda Stephens, NCSBA President, will appoint one applicant from each education district. Both scheduled Committee meetings this year will be held at the NCSBA office building in Raleigh; NCSBA will reimburse for mileage to Raleigh and provide lunch for each meeting.



The Committee's two scheduled meetings this year will focus on the essential work of developing the draft NCSBA Legislative Agenda for 2021-22. Again, it is imperative that each "at-large" member be in attendance for both of these meetings, except for an emergency. The dates, times, and topics for these two meetings are as follows:

- Monday, July 20, 2020, from 12:00 pm to 3:00 pm. At this meeting the Committee will assemble the survey instrument to be used to establish the 2021-22 agenda.
- Monday, September 14, 2020, from 12:00 pm to 3:00 pm. At this meeting the Committee will discuss the survey results and use those results to set the draft agenda that will be voted on by the delegate assembly at annual conference.

Again, please ensure that the individual your board nominates can commit to both of the above meeting dates.

There may also be specially called meetings dependent upon legislative developments.

If you have any questions, please contact Rebekah Howard at 919.747.6688 or rhoward@ncsba.org.